The Hornets and Globemaster show

This year we once again got ourselves down to the banks of the Brisbane River to experience the visceral blast of the Airforce F/A 18 Superhornets as they weaved low and fast through the city and along the river.

Before that, the imposing and surprisingly agile Globemaster also showed itself, in all its massive glory.

Large numbers of people always show up on the roofs and balconies of buildings and lining the top of the cliffs of Kangaroo Point. Its all part of the practice run for the Brisbane Festival which started this week.

After last years exposure to the overwhelming sight and sound, I thought I would give it a miss this year but in the end I showed up with my antiquated camera gear. This time I set the speed to 1/4000 with the aperture on auto and gave it a crack. First, the Globemaster in all its enormous glory.

The arrival of the F/A 18’s produced the usual punch in the guts thunder and I experienced the usual combination of awe and terror. Truly something from another world, and not necessarily a world that I love.

To see the full craziness of all this, here’s a link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=grw_JQQdFjU&t=49s


Below: who could blame the staff (and maybe some patients) of St Vincents Hospital for getting out on the roof for a grandstand view?

One response to “The Hornets and Globemaster show”

  1. “and not necessarily a world that I love” – I second that! A few more hernia repairs at St Vincent this week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started