Pull up a seat in Auckland

On a visit back to Auckland NZ in 2014 (we left in 2009) we paid an overdue visit to the Auckland Art gallery. Chairs and seats were in evidence that day and here are a few that caught my eye.

XingfuMamas pullupaseat challenge.

Image: screed

Image: screed

Image: screed


image:screed

7 responses to “Pull up a seat in Auckland”

  1. In my dotage, I have come to rate chairs by a second vital criterion: Do they have a footrest? No matter how comfy (first criterion), if I can’t put my feet up, they fail. So I’m forever searching for the perfect camp chair.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For when the bird book suddenly finds itself on your chest. Maybe a small folding campfire stool. Footstool size. Useful for lots of things. I use mine for pumping bicycle tires, weeding and any other chore for which I would otherwise have to crouch. ‘Cause I cant get up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! I have one in my bakkie for changing n pumping tyres for that same reason. Fear of being unable to rise and lying on the dirt laughing helplessly at the indignity!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your first pic, the wooden chair, looks like it could stick to the rear of a person with just the wrong-sized bum, poor thing! He’d get up and walk round with people pointing at him and laughing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Charles Reed, First Son of the famous Artists Village called Clarens, OFS posted a story on chairs, showing this beautifully-made wooden one, on display in the Auckland Art […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started